The Manila Times : Ex-military, police chiefs back BBM

15 March 2022

By Catherine S. Valente | The Manila Times

RETIRED high-ranking officials of both the Philippine National Police (PNP) and the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), including those who served under President Rodrigo Duterte's administration, are seeing the next commander-in-chief in survey frontrunner Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. and expressed their support in the upcoming national elections.

This came days after it was reported that Marcos' closest rival, Vice President Maria Leonor "Leni" Robredo, had allegedly forged an agreement with the Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP) and its armed wing New People's Army (NPA).

Among those who came out to support Marcos were seven retired chiefs of the PNP, AFP and Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), nine Medal of Valor awardees, seven former service commanders and at least 100 retired generals and senior officers.

In a manifesto of support signed by the officials, the group expressed strong belief that Marcos will initiate true reforms in their respective institutions particularly in the police and military.

The former military and police officials also called on the public to be vigilant in protecting their votes as they urged for peaceful and honest elections on May 9, 2022 even as reports surfaced that the Robredo-NPA clique could be out to sabotage the elections.

"For the future of our country, of our children and our children's children, it is incumbent upon all sectors of our society to rally behind and support whoever is chosen by our people through free, fair and honest elections," the group said.

"It is our constitutional duty as citizens of the Republic to resist any and all efforts to subvert the democratic will of our people," they added.

The group also assured that they will fully support the administration of Marcos once he is elected as president of the country.

"Should our people choose Sen. Marcos as our next president in the elections on May 9th, we commit to him our full support for unity, peace, progress — and we call on all to do the same so that he can fulfill the sovereign will of the Filipino people, and of God," the group said.

Among the signatories were former AFP chiefs Roy Cimatu, Benjamin Defensor Jr., Dionisio Santiago and Felimon Santos and former PNP chief Gen. Avelino Razon Jr.

Former PCG chiefs Admiral Damian Carlos and Admiral Danilo Abinoja also signed the manifesto to support Marcos.

The Medal of Valor awardees who signed the manifesto of support for Marcos were Ariel Querubin, Noel Buan, Roberto Salvador, Hilario Estrella, Bienvenido Fajemolin, Leopoldo Diokno, Lucio Curig, Roy Cuenca and Francisco Granpil.