Join the campaign (Learn More)

The Manila Times : Duterte OKs new districts for Caloocan, Bulacan

News & Interviews
28 May 2021

By Catherine Valente | The Manila Times

PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law bills creating new legislative districts in Caloocan City and Bulacan.

Duterte signed Republic Act (RA) 11545 on May 26, dividing the first district of Caloocan City into two legislative districts.

The law will take into effect during the 2022 elections.

RA 11545 mandates that the first legislative district of Caloocan will be composed of barangay (village) 1 to 4, barangay 77 to 86, and barangay 132 to 177.

The city's additional legislative district shall be composed of barangay 178 to 188.

Caloocan is the fourth most populous city in the Philippines with a population of 1.6 million.

Meanwhile, RA 11546 subdivided the province of Bulacan into six legislative districts from the current five, effective in next year's elections.

Calumpit, Hagonoy, Paombong, Pulilan, Bulakan and Malolos will comprise the first district; Baliuag, Bustos and Plaridel the second district; San Ildefonso, San Miguel, San Rafael and Doña Remedios Trinidad the third district; and Obando, Marilao and Meycauayan the fourth district.

Guiguinto, Balagtas, Pandi and Bocaue will comprise the fifth district while Sta. Maria, Angat and Norzagaray will comprise the sixth district.

Bulacan has a population of 3.3 million.

Duterte also signed RA 11544, converting the municipality of Calaca in the province of Batangas into the City of Calaca.

Calaca has met the requisites under the Local Government Code, as amended by RA 9009, for a municipality to be converted into a component city. Calaca's land area measures 105.49 square kilometers (sq. km) - higher than the 100 sq. km required by law.

Duterte said the city's "corporate powers" include to sue and be sued, and to acquire real or personal property.

The Commission on Elections shall issue the implementing rules and regulations within 30 days after the effectivity of the act.

The new laws, which were only revealed to the media on Wednesday, will take effect 15 days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.