Sun Star Cebu : CV ranks 4th in highest number of voter applicants

27 April 2021

By Sun Star Cebu

CENTRAL Visayas ranks fourth in the list of regions in the country in terms of the highest number of voter applications for registration.

As of April 20, 2021, Region 7 recorded 202,370 applicants, after Region 4-A or Calabarzon (396,529), NCR or National Capital Region (295,357), and Region 3 or Central Luzon (271,869).

These are among the 2.7 million applications for registration that the Commission on Elections (Comelec) has received so far.

This is the list of regions arranged according to the number of applications:

• Region 4-A


• Region 3

• Region 7

• Region 6 (Western Visayas) - 187,394

• Region 5 (Bicol Region) - 171,315

• Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) - 159,895

• Region 12 (Soccsksargen) - 144,075

• Region 11 (Davao Region) - 137,385

• Region 1 (Ilocos Region) - 136,712

• Region 10 (Northern Mindanao) - 133,842

• Region 9 (Zamboanga Peninsula) - 107,430

• Region 8 (Eastern Visayas) - 105,650

• Region 4-B (MIMAROPA) - 96,180

• Region 2 (Cagayan Valley) - 94,462

• Region 13 (Caraga) - 87,892

• Cordillera Administrative Region - 42,204

For the May 9, 2022 presidential elections, Comelec is looking to register some 4 million new voters.

Through its website, Comelec provides an online facility for an individual to fill up an application form. But the agency said that doing this does not automatically mean approval of their application and does not automatically make them a registered voter.

“You still have to personally appear before your local Comelec office or the concerned Philippine embassy or consulate together with three copies of printed online application forms for QR scanning and biometrics capture to complete the filing process. And then the Election Registration Board (ERB) still has to approve your application on the scheduled date for the next ERB hearing,” said Comelec on its website.

Voter registration is ongoing except in Metro Manila, the provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Abra, Quirino, and the city of Santiago in Isabela, which are under modified enhanced community quarantine until April 30.

The voter registration nationwide has resumed on Sept. 1, 2020, and will end on Sept. 30, 2021.

All Offices of Election Officers (OECs) in cities and municipalities are accepting applications for registration from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m., Mondays to Thursdays. (NRC/With PR)