Join the campaign (Learn More)

Senator Marcos elected as member of the Commission on Appointments

Press Releases
6 August 2013

Senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” R. Marcos, Jr. has been elected as member of the Commission on Appointments (CA) to represent the Nacionalista Party (NP).

Marcos joined seven other senators who have been named as members of the powerful commission representing the majority in the Senate. They need one more to complete the majority contingent in the CA.

The seven other senators named to the CA as members of the majority bloc include Majority Leader Alan Peter Cayetano and Senators Ralph Recto, Teofisto Guingona III, Loren Legarda, Aquilino Pimentel III, Antonio Trillanes IV, and Sergio Osmena III.

By virtue of his election to the top post in the Upper Chamber, Senate President Franklin Drilon automatically assumes chairmanship of the CA in the current 16th Congress.

On the other hand Minority Leader Juan Ponce Enrile, Senate Assistant Minority Leader Vicente Sotto III and Senator Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada represent the minority bloc in the CA.

The composition of the CA is defined under Sec. 18 of Article VI of the 1986 Constitution, which partly provides: “There shall be a Commission on Appointments consisting of the President of the Senate, as ex officio Chairman, twelve Senators, and twelve Members of the House of Representatives, elected by each House on the basis of proportional representation from political parties and parties or organizations registered under the party-list system represented therein.”

The CA has the power to approve or disapprove appointments made by the President of the Philippines, the confirmation of which is required under the Constitution.

It is part of the delicate mechanism of check and balances under the Constitution to ensure coordinate departments of the government will function in a manner most conducive to the public welfare.