Senate passes Nueva Camarines bill on second reading

11 February 2013

Senators have approved on second reading the proposed measure creating the new Province of Nueva Camarines a few days before Congress adjourned last February 9.

The measure, sponsored by Senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” R. Marcos, Jr. as chair of the Senate Local Government committee, provides for the creation of Nueva Camarines, which will be composed of municipalities taken from the fourth district of Camarines Sur.

Section 2 of the bill, to be known as the “Charter of the Province of Nueva Camarines”, provides: “There is hereby created a new province from the present Province of Camarines Sur to be known as the Province of Nueva Camarines consisting of the municipalities of Caramoan, Garchitorena, Goa, Lagonoy, Presentacion, Sagnay, San Jose, Siruma, Tigaon, and Tinambac.

Marcos, who sponsored the bill on September 17, 2012, pointed out that the new province to be created complied with the criteria set forth in the Constitution as well as in the Local Government Code of 1991.