Sen. Bongbong pushes for roads to be named after Cory, Ninoy, Kokoy

Press Releases
27 May 2015


SENATOR Ferdinand “Bongbong” R. Marcos has pushed to name 3 roads to honor the parents of President Aquino III and the former governor of Leyte.

Marcos, as chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Works, on Wednesday sponsored Committee Reports 153, 154, and 155, containing House Bills 4400, 4398, and 1042 proposing to name the circumferential road in Iloilo City as “President Cory C. Aquino Avenue;” the national highway along Iloilo diversion road as “Senator Benigno S. Aquino Jr Avenue;” and a diversion road in Leyte as “Governor Benjamin ‘Kokoy’
T. Romualdez Diversion Road,” respectively.

Under HB 4400, the avenue to be named after former President Aquino will be composed of the 4-lane circumferential road commencing at the junction of the Iloilo-Dumangas Coastal Road in Balabago, Jaro District, Iloilo City, then, follows a general westward direction along the floodway’s southbank towards Buhang, Jaro, Tacas, Jaro and UngKa II, Pavia.
Then, it traverses southwards to the Mandurriao District, Iloilo City-Pavia-San Miguel tri-boarder and ends at the Iloilo-Antique Road near the center of Arevalo District.

HB 1042 sought to name as “Gov. Benjamin ‘Kokoy’ T. Romualdez Road” the diversion road located in Tacloban City, Leyte.

Under HB 4398, the proposed “Senator Benigno S. Aquino Jr.” will be composed of the stretch of the national highway along the Iloilo Diversion Road/Iloilo Capiz Road (old route), which begins at the junction of General Luna to the airport access road and ends at the gate of the Iloilo International Airport, traversing the municipalities of Pavia, Sta. Barbara, and Cabatuan, and Iloilo City.

Based on the guidelines of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP), proposed name of persons for roads must have historical and cultural significance and must contribute as well to the positive development of national pride through good examples.

While the NHCP has a “10-year rule” policy, which means that at least 10 years should have been passed after the death of a person before he or she can be honored by naming a road after him or her, the commission waived the rule for Romualdez, who died only in February 2012, because of his valuable service and contribution.

HB 4400 and HB 4398 were introduced by Reps. Arcadio H. Garriceta, Ronald M. Cosalan, Jerry P. Treñas, Arthur R. Defensor Jr., Neil C. Tiupas, Oscar “Richard” S. Garin Jr., and Hernan G. Biron Jr., while HB 1042 was introduced by Reps. Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez and Cosalan.