Sen. Bongbong Marcos Delivers his sponsorship speech pushing for roads to be named after Cory, Ninoy, Kokoy

27 May 2015


Mr. President, distinguished colleagues, today, it is my honor, as Chairman of the Committee on Public Works, to sponsor Committee Reports No. 153, 154 and 155 containing House Bills 4400, 4398, and 1042, which propose to name the Circumferential road in Iloilo City as President Cory C. Aquino avenue, the National Highway along Ilioilo diversion raod as senator Benigno S. Aquino, Jr. Avenue, and the diversion road in Tacloban City as Governor Benjamin “Kokoy” Romualdez Diversion Road, respectively.

House Bill 4400 authored by Representatives Gorriceta, Cosalan, Treñas, Defensor, Tupas, Garin and Biron, proposes to name the four (4) lane circumferential road which commences at the junction of the Iloilo-Dumangas Coastal Road in Balabago, Jaro District, Iloilo City, then follows a General Westward direction along the floodway’s south bank towardsBuhang, Jaro, Tacas, jaro and ungka ii, pavia, then traverses southwards to the mandurriao district, Iloilo City-Pavia-San Miguel Tri-Border, and ends at the Iloilo-Antique road, near the center of Arevalo District, Iloilo City, as “President Cory C. Aquino Avenue”.

House Bill 4398, on the other hand, which is likewise authored by Representatives Gorriceta, Cosalan, Treñas, Defensor, Tupas, Garin and Biron, seeks to name the stretch of the national highway along the Iloilo diversion road/Iloilo Capiz road (old route) which begins at the junction of general luna to the airport access road and ends at the gate of the Iloilo International Airport, traversing the Municipalities of Pavia, Sta. Barbara and Cabatuan, and Iloilo City, as “Senator Benigno S. Aquino, Jr. Avenue.”

House bill 1942, authored by Representatives Romualdez and Cosalan, proposes to name the diversion road in Tacloban City, Leyte, as “Gov. Benjamin “Kokoy” T. Romualdez diversion road”.

Based on the guidelines issued by the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP), proposed names for roads must have historical and cultural significance and must contribute to the positive development of national pride through good example exhibited by the name being used.

It is noteworthy to state that the NHCP has a “10-year rule policy” where the commission encourages the passage of 10 years from the date of death of proposed honoree before he or she can be honored, to allow a better perspective of his or her contribution to the country or community. This rule however does not apply to highly exceptional persons.

During the Committee Hearing on these bills held on March 12, 2015, the NHCP, represented by Ms. Cielito Reyno, supervising history researcher, waived this “10-year rule”, and instead, considered the valuable service and contribution of the honorees to the community. Included in the waiver of this rule is the proposed Gov. Benjamin “Kokoy” Romualdez diversion road in Tacloban City, whose honoree died only on February 2012.

In view of the foregoing, i earnestly request this August chamber to approve Committee Reports 153, 154, and 155.

Thank you very much.