Join the campaign (Learn More)

Politiko : Para walang gulo! Comelec drops presidential bet with same surname as Marcos Jr

News & Interviews
6 January 2022

By Politiko

Ferdinand Marcos Jr. is now the lone Marcos running for president in the 2022 elections after the Commission on Elections (Comelec) dropped the aspirant with the same surname from the latest tentative list of candidates.

Maria Aurora Marcos is no longer on the Comelec’s updated list of presidential aspirants released Thursday (January 6).

The Comelec has whittled down the list of presidential bets to 11 from 15 in December 2022. Aside from Marcos, the other politikos recognized by the Comelec to be running from president are (in alphabetical order):

  • Abella, Ernie
  • Arcega, Gerald
  • De Guzman, Leody
  • Domagoso, Isko Moreno
  • Gonzales, Norberto
  • Lacson, Ping
  • Mangondato, Faisal
  • Montemayor, Jose Jr.
  • Pacquiao, Manny Pacman
  • Robredo, Leni

The number of vice presidential aspirants, meanwhile, remains at nine. They are (in alphabetical order):

  • Atienza, Lito
  • Bello, Walden
  • David, Rizalito
  • Duterte, Sara
  • Lopez, Manny SD
  • Ong, Doc Willie
  • Pangilinan, Kiko
  • Serapio, Carlos
  • Sotto, Vicente