Politiko : 20 Bulacan mayors support Marcos Jr, Sara Duterte

3 April 2022

By Politiko

Twenty mayors from Bulacan have expressed their support to presidential candidate Ferdinand Marcos Jr. and vice presidential aspirant Sara Duterte for the May 9 elections.

The majority of the members of the Mayor’s League Bulacan Chapter jointly issued a manifesto of support for the UniTeam tandem.

“We, the municipal mayors comprising the Mayor’s League Bulacan Chapter, express our full support to the Presidential and Vice Presidential bid of Uniteam candidates Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Jr. and Mayor Inday Sara Duterte this coming 2022 National Elections,” the manifesto read.

Bulacan is the fifth vote-rich province in the country. It has 21 municipalities and three cities.

“We collectively believe that Mr. Bongbong Marcos and Mayor Sara Duterte is the tandem our country needs to unite our people and to bounce back as a nation. As local elected officials who are mandated to look after the welfare of our people, we have faith that the UnitTeam will deliver the much-needed support to our localities,” the manifesto said.

Among those who signed the manifesto were mayors Eladio Gonzales of Balagtas, Ferdinand Estrella of Baliuag, Jose Santiago Jr. of Bocaue, Vergel Meneses of Bulakan, Francis Albert Juan of Bustos, Ambrosio Cruz, Jr. of Guiguinto, Ricardo Silvestre of Marilao, Mary Ann Marcos of Paombong, and Roderick Tiongson of San Miguel.

Also included in the list were Mayors Cipriano Violago, Jr. of San Rafael, Leonardo De Leon of Angat, Jessie De Jesus of Calumpit, Raulito Manlapaz of Hagonoy, Edwin Santos of Obando, Anastacia Vistan of Plaridel, Russel Pleyto of Sta. Maria, Linabelle Villarica of Meycauayan City, and Arthur Robes of San Juan del Monte City.

Meanwhile, representatives of Pandi Mayor Chis Castro and Malolos City Mayor Christian Natividad signed the manifesto on their behalf.

In the 2016 vice presidential election, Marcos won in Bulacan with 556,480 votes against Leni Robredo’s 190.401 votes.