Philippine Information Agency - Senate bill proposes creation of Palawan’s 3rd legislative district

31 May 2012

By Victoria Asuncion S. Mendoza | Philippine Information Agency

PIAPUERTO PRINCESA CITY, Palawan, May 31 (PIA) -- A bill creating the 3rd legislative district of Palawan was recently introduced in the senate, through the sponsorship of Senator Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr., chairman of the Committee on Local Government.

The proposal to create a third legislative district composed of Puerto Princesa City and Aborlan municipality originated from the Lower House with the approved House Bill 5608 principally authored by Palawan 2nd district Congressman Dennis M. Socrates.

In his sponsorship speech, Marcos said Palaweños deserve an additional seat in the House of Representatives with the categorization of Puerto Princesa City as a highly-urbanized city, its growing population, and compliance with the minimum requirements of the law such as the population.

"This bill proposes to create one additional legislative district to consist of the city of Puerto Princesa and the Municipality of Aborlan, which is to be known as the third congressional district of Palawan. Puerto Princesa and the town of Aborlan have a population count of 254,883 based on the 2010 census. The proposed first district has a population count of 385,593 based on the 2010 census by the National Statistics Office, while the proposed second district has 353,865 population based on the National Statistics Office 2010 census," Marcos explained.

Puerto Princesa City is a highly urbanized city through a proclamation issued by former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo in 2007.

“The reapportionment of Palawan is based on the principle of equality of representation, which means that larger provinces or representative districts should be entitled to more representatives in Congress," Marcos added.