Manila Standard : BBM-Sara tandem, Villar top HKPH/Asia Research Center survey

By Manila Standard

Former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. is still in the lead for President in the May 9 elections with 56 percent voter preference, according to the most recent survey results from the HKPH-Public Opinion and Research Center in collaboration with the Hong Kong-based Asia Research Center.

For vice president, Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte received 58 percent of the survey tally, HKPH/ARC added. The survey was conducted from April 24-28 using face-to-face interviews with 5,500 respondents, with the margin of error at 1% for the national percentage.

Senatorial aspirant and former Public Works Secretary Mark A. Villar received 70.5 percent of the vote in the senatorial poll for the forthcoming elections. He was followed by Antique Representative Loren Legarda (66.3%), broadcaster Raffy Tulfo (62.7%), Sorsogon Governor Francis “Chiz” Escudero (58.4%), Sen. Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri (53.6%), and Filipino film actor Robin Padilla (46.8%).

Meanwhile, in 7th to 12th place were Sen. Win Gatchalian (46.2%), former House Speaker Alan Cayetano (45.1%), former Vice President Jejomar “Jojo” Binay (43.7%), former Senator JV Estrada Ejercito (41.5%), former Senator Jinggoy Estrada (37.8%) and former Senator Gringo Honasan (34.1%).

Also included in the list of preferred senatorial candidates are Senator Risa Hontiveros (33.4%) at 13th place followed by Sen. Joel Villanueva (31.6%), Senator Dick Gordon (28.1%), former Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista (25.3%), former senator Antonio Trillanes IV (23.5%), former Presidential Spokesperson Sec. Harry Roque (22.7%);

Former Defense Secretary Gilbert Teodoro (21.2%), Senator Leila De Lima (17.5%), former Philippine National Police (PNP) Chief Guillermo Eleazar (17.2%), Astravel “Astra” Pimentel-Naik (16.8%), lawyer Chel Diokno (14.6%) and Lorenzo ‘Larry’ Gadon (13.5%).

Marcos was followed by Vice President Leni Robredo, who received 24% of the vote, Manila Mayor Isko Moreno (6%), Senator Manny Pacquiao (6%), Senator Ping Lacson (4%), and an unknown 4%. Mayor Duterte was followed by Senate President Tito Sotto (26%), Senator Kiko Pangilinan (7%), Dr. Willie Ong (2%), Congressman Lito Atienza (1%), and unclear 6%.