Manila Bulletin : Voter registration suspended in NCR+ area until May 14

By Leslie Ann Aquino | Manila Bulletin

There will be no voter registration in the National Capital Region (NCR)-plus area from May 1 to 14.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) said there will be no voter registration and issuance of voter’s certification in NCR, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal as offices of the poll body will be closed.

The poll body said its the same for other areas placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) or modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) by their respective local government units (LGUs) for any specific period in the month of May.

Voter registration and issuance of voter’s certification are also suspended in Santiago City, Isabela; Abra and Quirino from May 1 to 31.

“For the duration of the MECQ in NCR Plus and other areas, the Comelec Office for Overseas Voting (OFOV) in Intramuros, Manila will be attending exclusively to voter registration applicants with urgent travel needs,” the poll body said in an advisory.

“OFOV may be reached via its official Facebook page (, email addresses ([email protected], [email protected]) and cellphone numbers (+639050345158 or +639518759882),” it further read.

For the rest of the Philippines under general community quarantine (GCQ) or modified general community quarantine (MGCQ), voter registration will continue Monday to Thursday from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Issuance of voter’s certification, on the other hand, is from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.