Manila Bulletin : National Museum is historic venue for Marcos inauguration

By Manila Bulletin

President-elect Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr. has decided to take his oath of office on June 30 as the 17th President of the Republic of the Philippines at the Old Legislative Building, now the National Museum. He will be the fourth President to do so, following Manuel Luis Quezon (1935), Jose P. Laurel (1943) and Manuel A. Roxas (1946).

According to the presidential inauguration committee, his preference was to take his oath at the Quirino Grandstand at the Luneta, where the young Marcos, Jr. witnessed his father Ferdinand E. Marcos take his oath in 1965, 1969 and 1981. But the Manila Covid-19 Field Hospital, a temporary facility put up by the Manila city government in June 2021 still occupies the Luneta grounds; hence it could not be used as venue for the inauguration.

Presidential inaugurations are historic events; the choice of venue could not be whimsical as it is imbued with national interest. Emilio Aguinaldo was inaugurated at Barasoain Church in Malolos Bulacan; Joseph Ejercito Estrada also chose this venue for his oath taking in 1998. Nine inaugurations took place at the Quirino Grandstand at the Luneta. The presidents who were inaugurated at this venue were: Elpidio R. Quirino (1949), Ramon D. Magsaysay (1953), Carlos P. Garcia (1957), Diosdado P. Macapagal (1961), Ferdinand E. Marcos, Sr. (1965,1969, and 1981); Fidel V. Ramos (1992) and Benigno S. Aquino III (2010).
Corazon C. Aquino took her oath at the Club Filipino in San Juan on February 25, 1986, the fourth day of the EDSA People Power Revolution at about the same time that Ferdinand Marcos, Sr. took his oath at the balcony of Malacañang Palace. Both of them claimed victory in a keenly contested snap election.

Gloria Macapagal Arroyo took her oath of office at the EDSA Shrine in Quezon City after President Estrada was forced to leave Malacañang when the erstwhile defense secretary, the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) chief of staff and the commanding generals of the Philippine Army and Philippine Air Force and the flag officer in command of the Philippine Navy as well as the Director-General of the Philippine National Police announced the withdrawal of their support to him before another EDSA People Power mass demonstration. After Arroyo was elected to her own six-year term, she first delivered her inaugural address at the Quirino grandstand before enplaning to Cebu where she took her oath at noon at the Cebu Provincial Capitol.

President-elect Marcos shares the distinction of being the third child of a former President of the Republic to become Chief Executive and Head of State. He is also the first majority president after obtaining 31,629,783 votes or 58.77 percent of the votes cast. He has chosen a historic venue and hopes are high that he would lead the country out of the post-Covid doldrums and into a bright new era of progress and optimism.