: DFA, DOF chiefs part of Duterte’s transition team; official talks ‘on hold’

By Christia Marie Ramos |

MANILA, Philippines — President Rodrigo Duterte’s foreign affairs and finance secretaries will form part of a committee that will oversee the transition of power when he steps down from office.

During Duterte’s Talk to the People aired on Thursday, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea identified the members of the transition committee.

Medialdea is the committee’s chairperson.

The members include Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr., Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III, Budget and Management Secretary Tina Rose Canda and Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Karl Kendrick Chua.

Talks ‘on hold’
According to Medialdea, official transition talks need to be “put on hold for the moment” while awaiting for the proclamation of the next president.

“Official talks need to be put on hold for the moment but preparations on our end need to begin, we after all have more work to do,” he said.

He said the committee seeks a “smooth and seamless transition” while ensuring the continued delivery of public service to Filipinos.

Based on the partial and unofficial count of the Commission on Elections, former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. is the presumptive presidential winner with over 31 million votes.