Comelec Commissioners Personally Congratulate Sen. Bongbong Marcos for Senate Win

14 December 2010

COMELEC-CommissionerAs the saying goes, better late than never.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) commissioners yesterday paid a visit to the Senate to personally congratulate Senator Bongbong Marcos and the other winning–and now-sitting– Senators, who were elected in May this year. Comelec Chairman Jose A.R. Melo, and Commissioners Rene V. Sarmiento, Nicodemo T. Ferrer, Lucenito N. Tagle, Armando C. Velasco, Elias R. Yusoph, and Gregorio Y. Larrazabal made a courtesy call also to personally hand over to the Senator the certification of the Commission, sitting en banc as the National Board of Canvassers, proclaiming Senator Bongbong Marcos as Senator-elect on 15 May 2010.

Sen. Bongbong Marcos ranked seventh among the winning senators who vied for the twelve vacant Senate seats in the national elections held on 11 May 2010, garnering more than 12 million votes. Senator Bongbong also came out first of the two real newcomers in the Philippine Senate this year. Senator TG Guingona is the other newbie Senator, coming in at twelfth place.