Business World - Quezon City has new districts

11 July 2012

By Business World

business_worldTWO CONGRESSIONAL districts have been added in Quezon City following the enactment of a law that created the new jurisdictions.

In a statement yesterday, Senator Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr., chairman of the local government committee, said President Benigno S. C. Aquino III had enacted on July 2 Republic Act No. 10170, which divides the present second district into three, creating Districts 5 and 6.

“The reapportionment of the Quezon City legislative districts shall commence in the next national and local elections after the effectivity of the law,” Mr. Marcos said in the statement.

District 2 now groups barangays Bagong Silangan, Batasan Hills, Commonwealth, Holy Spirit and Payatas.

District 5 will be composed of Barangays Bagbag, Capri, Greater Lagro, Gulod, Kaligayahan, Nagkasiang Nayon, North Fairview, Novaliches Proper, Pasong Putik Proper, San Agustin, San Bartolome, Santa Lucia, Santa Monica and Fairview.

The sixth district will cover barangays Apolonio Samson, Baesa, Balon-Bato, Culiat, New Era, Pasong Tamo, Sangandaan, Tandang Sora, Unang Ligaw, Sauyo and Talipapa.

“With the large population of Quezon City, the people of this local government unit undoubtedly deserve additional seats in the House of Representatives,” he added, noting that the city’s second district “has a constituency in size and land area bigger than all the other existing districts in Quezon City combined.”

According to the 2010 records of the city government, District 2 accounts for more than 1.7 million of the city’s total 2.9 million population RA 10170 will add two new congressmen and an equivalent number of representations in the city council, all of whom will be elected in next year’s midterm polls, said Mr. Marcos.